Coffee Cake memories

Coffee cake has always been something I’ve associated with childhood, one of the few things I can really remember baking when I was a kid. It’s only other companion is making cookies with my mother and brother. Specifically sour cream coffee cake though, as I found out a couple of years ago when I decided to make one and my mom pointed me to a recipe that included yeast (which was mostly confusing and did not live up to my expectations). I made sure to make the correct kind of cake this week.

Recipe at: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Sour-Cream-Coffee-Cake-2643

There may or may not be coffee in that mug.

Other things I made this week:
– The bread was put to good use, with the aforementioned grilled cheese: cheddar, a tomato slice, and fresh basil leaves

– Stuffed peppers made with leftovers: diced green bell pepper (top half of pepper), chorizo, and onions sautéed together with some cumin; mixed with grated cheddar and cream cheese, baked in the bottom half of the pepper. Except for the pepper not being quite baked enough, it was really good!

DSC_0352 copy

– A recipe from chocolatecoveredkatie.com: Pineapple upside-down pancakes (http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2013/06/10/pineapple-upside-down-pancakes/)

DSC_1099 copy

Leave a comment